IMG

 
IMG
IMG   IMG
  Welcome to GTAForums! Be sure to check out the Grand Theft Auto V Forum.

You are not registered! (If you are, click here to login) Registering is fast, free and easy and allows you to instantly reply to any topic on GTAForums.
Why wait? Click here to register your own unique username and become part of the ever-growing community!


( Log In | Register | Revalidate Validation E-mail )
Quick Log-In:
  IMG
       
>
  Closed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

 GTAforums.com Malware Warning

 
HOAXi  
Posted: Saturday, Jun 16 2012, 14:25
Quote Post


.... - R E L I G I O N - .... .. The Illusion of Hope ..
Group Icon
Group: Members
Joined: Apr 22, 2012

nw.gif

XXXXX



Though I'm positive there are no Malware (false) related content going on here, I just want to let the board know there are a warning connected to this board. No big deal, but it might worry some folks with little knowledge.

user posted image
PM
  Top
 

 
goin-god  
Posted: Saturday, Jun 16 2012, 14:34
Quote Post


High Roller
Group Icon
Group: $outh $ide Hoodz
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

ar.gif

Member Award




Most probably someone's Avatar or Signature.
Users WebsitePMMSNPlayStation Network
  Top
 

 
Girish  
Posted: Saturday, Jun 16 2012, 14:49
Quote Post



Group Icon
Group: Moderators
Joined: Apr 20, 2006

ia.gif

Member Award




The warning is not related to GTAF but to truxtertech.com. People have hotlinked some content from there resulting in the warning.

Click --> Those are the pages that are likely to throw up the warning.

And this is the guy responsible for the site. Although, it's most probably nothing to worry about.
Users WebsitePMMSN
  Top
 

 
HOAXi  
Posted: Saturday, Jun 16 2012, 15:11
Quote Post


.... - R E L I G I O N - .... .. The Illusion of Hope ..
Group Icon
Group: Members
Joined: Apr 22, 2012

nw.gif

XXXXX



I meant it was connected to this board, not directly coming from this board of course.

Someone should remove what ever content he uses. Safe or not, it's annoying, and it might scare off a few guys as potential members. I think he can live without that (is it his) signature (?).

EDIT: Ok, I see it's not his signature. You could give him a PM though, telling him to switch to another image hoster next time. There are plenty of others he can use.

This post has been edited by HOAXi on Saturday, Jun 16 2012, 15:20
PM
  Top
 

 
Spider-Vice  
Posted: Saturday, Jun 16 2012, 15:30
Quote Post


Let's Bounce
Group Icon
Group: Zaibatsu
Joined: Oct 9, 2006

pg.gif

XXXXX



It's a false positive most likely, after all it's the crappy Google scanner. He hosts the picture on his own site so I don't see him forced to change because of that, it's Google's fault but yeah, to avoid it he could change the hosting.
PMXbox Live
  Top
 

 
radioman  
Posted: Saturday, Jun 16 2012, 21:39
Quote Post


Big Homie
Group Icon
Group: Members
Joined: Apr 19, 2006

Member Award




That is not the Forums, per say...it is more than likely just someone's Avatar OR Sig. that is causing the problem?-that's how it was explained to me, as I used to get those same exact page re-directs..

But, the question is:Why can't the mods disable the sig/avatar that is causing the problems and warn the offender about it-explain to the offender that they will be banned if this problem occurs again.., so these kinds of problems don't keep popping up? Just curious? confused.gif This seems like the best way to stop this kind of problem-Just a thought/suggestion.. smile.gif
PM
  Top
 

 
Spider-Vice  
Posted: Saturday, Jun 16 2012, 22:06
Quote Post


Let's Bounce
Group Icon
Group: Zaibatsu
Joined: Oct 9, 2006

pg.gif

XXXXX



Wow, and why threatening a ban if it's a false-positive most likely? Just warning the user would be enough, after all if it was a real virus it wouldn't be a browser detecting it with a crappy engine like Google's, it would be your antivirus.
PMXbox Live
  Top
 

 
radioman  
Posted: Saturday, Jun 16 2012, 22:30
Quote Post


Big Homie
Group Icon
Group: Members
Joined: Apr 19, 2006

Member Award




QUOTE
after all if it was a real virus it wouldn't be a browser detecting it with a crappy engine like Google's, it would be your antivirus.


In that case, I don't think it's just Google, as the last couple of times I got that message-that message popped up on Google Chrome and when I double checked using Firefox, it gave the same type of warning(the AV, not the browser that time)...so, those times, I got a warning once by the browser and once by the AV(I assume it was the AV that time as it was a different screen than the one I saw on Chrome?)...

But, I didn't say to ban the offender, I said disable the sig/avatar that is causing the problems and warn them that if they keep it up, they will be banned-from experience, a lot of times just simply threatening someone with a ban(or in my career threatening someone with an arrest) is very effective as it will send them the message to be more careful as to what they choose for a sig/avatar as if they don't they can end up getting banned for spreading viruses/malware(for forums purposes)/if I threaten them with an arrest, it will make them think twice before they repeat the violation again(*hopefully*), as they now know they will possibly go to jail if they have another violation like that(in my career field)...just an example how a stern warning can work on the forums like it does in real-life.. tounge2.gif lol.gif
PM
  Top
 

 
ilan0312  
Posted: Thursday, Jun 28 2012, 14:51
Quote Post


Player Hater
Group Icon
Group: BUSTED!
Joined: Jun 28, 2012

XXXXX



And this is the guy responsible for the site. Although, it's most probably nothing to worry about.

This post has been edited by Girish on Thursday, Jun 28 2012, 15:11
PM
  Top
 

 
Adriaan  
Posted: Monday, Jul 9 2012, 15:01
Quote Post



Group Icon
Group: Retired Staff
Joined: Jun 10, 2005

Member Award




Seen same warning here for "miamiviceonline.com": http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=515015

Viewing the page source, there's no direct link to that URL.
PM
  Top
 

 
PrometheusX  
Posted: Monday, Jul 9 2012, 15:06
Quote Post


Did I balls?
Group Icon
Group: Andolini Mafia Family
Joined: Apr 18, 2011

Member Award




QUOTE (Adriaan @ Monday, Jul 9 2012, 15:01)
Seen same warning here for "miamiviceonline.com": http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=515015

Viewing the page source, there's no direct link to that URL.

I think it's this guy's avatar.
Users WebsitePM
  Top
 

 
Girish  
Posted: Monday, Jul 9 2012, 15:15
Quote Post



Group Icon
Group: Moderators
Joined: Apr 20, 2006

ia.gif

Member Award




His avatar has been removed and I've PMed him to re-host it to some other reliable site.

You can also report the profile of the member in question if you come across any such warnings.
Users WebsitePMMSN
  Top
 

 

0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)

0 Members:

Topic Options Closed TopicStart new topicStart Poll
Search topic for posted by (exact match)



 
IMG IMG