IMG

 
IMG
IMG   IMG
  Welcome to GTAForums! Be sure to check out the Grand Theft Auto V Forum.

You are not registered! (If you are, click here to login) Registering is fast, free and easy and allows you to instantly reply to any topic on GTAForums.
Why wait? Click here to register your own unique username and become part of the ever-growing community!


( Log In | Register | Revalidate Validation E-mail )
Quick Log-In:
  IMG
       
>
  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

 GTA Garage rated as dangerous site

 
Dr. John13  
Posted: Tuesday, May 8 2012, 05:17
Quote Post


Forced™
Group Icon
Group: Members
Joined: Dec 31, 2011

XXXXX



user posted image

I don't have photoshop tools so don't say,"Cool Editing, bro." I think GTAG has virus in it. That's why it is rated as a dangerous site. I think I am in the correct place. If not, move it to the correct section. Please don't say,"Stop this bullsh*t" and all. I just want to notice you all.

Please do something about this. Thank You.

EDIT: Please change that "s" into "as" in the topic title.
PMMSNYahooXbox Live
  Top
 

 
Suction Testicle Man  
Posted: Tuesday, May 8 2012, 11:54
Quote Post


Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man.
Group Icon
Group: Network Admins
Joined: Sep 27, 2002

Member Award




Considering The GTA Place seems to have the same red icon listed (is that what you're talking about?), I think it's more likely you have a rogueware infection. Does clicking the red icon take you to a website trying to sell you an "antivirus"?
Users WebsitePMXbox Live
  Top
 

 
Dr. John13  
Posted: Tuesday, May 8 2012, 14:17
Quote Post


Forced™
Group Icon
Group: Members
Joined: Dec 31, 2011

XXXXX



Here is the report from McAfee (Click here): When we tested this site we found links to gtanet.com, which we found to be a distributor of downloads some people consider adware, spyware or other potentially unwanted programs.

This report is claiming that GTANet is distributing illegal stuff.

As for your question, yes, it directs me to the site.

This post has been edited by Dr. John13 on Tuesday, May 8 2012, 14:19
PMMSNYahooXbox Live
  Top
 

 
Girish  
Posted: Tuesday, May 8 2012, 14:51
Quote Post



Group Icon
Group: Moderators
Joined: Apr 20, 2006

ia.gif

Member Award




It's time to get rid of McAfee and get a proper, working anti-virus.

Edit: haha, and just as I posted that, it seems even Avira is reporting a malware within GTAG.

I had to add it to the exceptions list manually.

Users WebsitePMMSN
  Top
 

 
Suction Testicle Man  
Posted: Tuesday, May 8 2012, 19:00
Quote Post


Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man.
Group Icon
Group: Network Admins
Joined: Sep 27, 2002

Member Award




QUOTE (Dr. John13 @ Tuesday, May 8 2012, 14:17)
Here is the report from McAfee (Click here): When we tested this site we found links to gtanet.com, which we found to be a distributor of downloads some people consider adware, spyware or other potentially unwanted programs.

This report is claiming that GTANet is distributing illegal stuff.

As for your question, yes, it directs me to the site.

Okay, had a look at that site - they think 2 files hosted at media.gtanet.com are viruses - presumably because they alter memory addresses and use hotkeys. Both are false positives (this happens a lot since antivirus companies increasingly try to automate detection - probably to cut costs).

I would email them about it - but I don't particularly care about improving their product, and they tend to ignore you and/or make the same mistake later anyway. wink.gif
Users WebsitePMXbox Live
  Top
 

 
Vanzant  
Posted: Wednesday, May 9 2012, 01:18
Quote Post


25T
Group Icon
Group: Zaibatsu
Joined: Feb 11, 2005

us.gif

Member Award




QUOTE (Dr. John13 @ Tuesday, May 8 2012, 10:17)
"When we tested this site we found links to gtanet.com, which we"

What is this "we" stuff? You brought a team together to do a virus scan?
Users WebsitePMMSNAOLYahooXbox LivePlayStation Network
  Top
 

 
Dr. John13  
Posted: Wednesday, May 9 2012, 03:40
Quote Post


Forced™
Group Icon
Group: Members
Joined: Dec 31, 2011

XXXXX



No, the reports says.

@Girish: I also have Norton and it isn't showing any danger sign. Too bad for your antivirus. tounge.gif

@STM: OK, then. This won't be any major problem now. Thanks for clearing this up.
PMMSNYahooXbox Live
  Top
 

 

1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)

0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll
Search topic for posted by (exact match)



 
IMG IMG